Chess sweater

I’m a project manager. I make plannings for construction projects. For my job, deadlines are very important. But when it comes to making a time schedule for the renovation of my own home… Or finishing a handmade gift on time… Right, you get the point: I suck in deadlines when they are not work related.

My dad’s birthday is 13th May. Last year, I came up with the idea of sewing him a sweater. The chess sweater from La Maison Victor it would be. I’m not a huge fan of the grid fabric suggested for this sweater, so I asked one of the friendly ladies of In den beer to show me some nice fabrics I could use. When she showed me a dark blue fleece fabric with tiny neon “sparkles”, I knew that would be it. Kind of atypical, but perfect.
Like his moustache : kind of atypical, but perfect 😉

I was planning to write that I started copying the pattern and cutting the fabric a few weeks (or even days) before his birthday, but my Instagram-feed tells me something else. The picture of the first sweater preparations was posted 25 weeks ago, so already 3 months to late… Shame on me…

I don’t know why I ended up with 6 cut pieces of fabric lying on my table for another 5 months. Was it because of the good weather, or because I took a break from sewing class (and I wanted to make the sweater with an overlock machine, which I don’t have at home), I don’t know.

And so it happened that I started my first sewing class of 2016 by assemblying my dad’s birthday sweater, about 8 months too late (or 4 months too early 😉 ) Wondering why an simple sweater like this took so much time.

Luckily my dad’s very (very) patient and willing to be model for a day to show his newest piece of clothing. Maybe I should already start the search and preparation for his next birthday gift. Because my gift will be on time this year!

DSC_0521 (2)

DSC_0508 (3)

DSC_0515 (3)

DSC_0507

DSC_0550

 

Plaats een reactie